ICAN Professional Stages And Courses

ICAN stages and courses

In this post, I am going to explain to us about ICAN stages and courses to write in every stage.

Pure Accounting graduates should go through the two stages of exams which are the skill level and the professional level. The Courses under each levels are:

  • A1.Financial Reporting
  • A2.Performance Management
  • A3.Public Sector Accounting and Finance
  • A4.Management, Governance, and Ethics
ALSO READ: How to check ICAN professional result

  • B1.Corporate Reporting
  • B2.Advanced Audit and Assurance
  • B3.Strategic Financial Management
  • B4.Advanced Taxation
  • B5.Case Study

Non-Accounting graduates will write the exams in three stages. The are: Foundation, Skills and Professional.

ALSO READ: List of ICAN Examination centres in Lagos and their contacts

  • E1.Quantitative Techniques in Business
  • E2.Business and Finance
  • E3.Financial Accounting
  • E4.Management Information System
  • E5.Business Law
  • F1.Financial Reporting
  • F2.Audit and Assurance
  • F3.Taxation
  • F4.Performance Management
  • F5.Public Sector Accounting and Finance
  • F6.Management, Governance, and Ethics
  • G1.Corporate Reporting
  • G2.Advanced Audit and Assurance
  • G3.Strategic Financial Management
  • G4.Advanced Taxation
  • G5.Case Study
Educational Accounting graduates will start from the Foundation level instead of skills level, but they will write only one course (Management Information System) and be exempted from the Remaining 4 courses although they will pay for exemption.

ALSO READ: 10 Ways to study for ICAN and ACCA Examinations

Approximately, ICAN professional courses for non-accounting graduates can be completed in 18 months if the student didn't fail any examination. The Institute of Chartered Accountants of Nigeria (ICAN) was established in 1965. The primary goal of the creation was to regulate the professional conducts and standards for accountants and candidates who are trained to work in this field.

NOTE: When a student fail any exam, the student will not moved to the next level. He or she will have to come back and retake the failed paper before moving to the next level. Unlike the Univeristy system where students will move to another level even if they fail some courses. In ICAN, the student have to rewrite the exam and pass before moving on to the next level.
Next Post Previous Post
  • Unknown
    Unknown July 17, 2020 at 10:27 AM

    How much is exemption fee for accounting student

  • Unknown
    Unknown June 14, 2021 at 12:43 PM

    I learnt that taxation has now been moved from skills to foundation level.
    Though I already wrote and passed foundation, but that was before taxation was moved.
    So, if I'm to continue, do i need to go back to foundation to pass taxation, or it can be included in my skills courses?

Add Comment
comment url