All You Need To Know About Stamp Duty Act 2020 In Nigeria

All You Need To Know About Stamp Duty Act 2020 In Nigeria

What is Stamp Duty?
Stamp duty is a form of tax levied on single property purchases or documents. This includes the majority of legal documents such as cheques, receipts, military commissions, marriage licenses and land transactions.

ALSO READ: A Brief On the New Finance Act 2020 In Nigeria

Prior to now, a physical stamp (a revenue stamp) had to be  to or impressed upon a document to denote that stamp duty had been paid before the document was legally effective. However, more modern versions of the tax no longer require an actual stamp. This is part of the reason why the Finance Act 2020 modified some sections of the former Stamp Duty Act (SDA).

ALSO READ: Classification of Taxes: Direct vs Indirect Tax

Notarial acts, agreements, conveyance of sale of land, powers of attorney, contract notes, valuations, capital or limited liability companies, bank notes, promissory notes, mortgage notes, share certificates, debentures, share warrants, insurance policy, customs bills of laden, bills of sale and receipts. etc.

ALSO READ: Finance Bill 2019: Highlights of Major Reform to the Tax Laws in Nigeria

According to the Finance Act 2020, Section 2 of the SDA have been amended to accommodate electronic and digital transactions in the definition of “stamp”, “stamped” and “instrument”. Based on the provisions of the Finance Act, instrument would now include electronic documents.

In addition, the new S.89 (S) of SDA has imposed stamp duty of N50 on all single bank deposits of N10,000 and above. There are exemptions for transactions between accounts held by the same bank customer and for salary accounts.


[1] SDA now accomodates electronic and digital transactions
[2] Stamp Duties of N50, is now charged on single bank deposit(s) of N10,000 and above.
Next Post Previous Post
No Comment
Add Comment
comment url